Chilpancingo!!


(Waxflower)

Today, at lunch time, as my usual, left the office with my camera for a walk.  I knew well that I wouldn’t be able to get many shot since I had forgotten to recharge the battery.  It was sunny but bitter cold and the wind was not helping, I tried to walk on the sunny side of the sidewalks but tall skyscrapers were blocking the sun.

After walking few blocks, I decided to return to the office, but instead of turning back on my steps,  made a left turn on a street thinking few more than I’ll make another left towards my office bldg.

Manhattan, NY, has the most amazing corner stores where fresh-cut flowers bouquets make their home alongside of the stores on the sidewalk with one attendant.  Most of these attendants are Central/South American and very pleasant.

In winter, they have their portable transparent tent/wall with a door to shield themselves and those beautiful flowers and plants, from cold, wind, rain and snow.

At this particular corner that I was ready to turn left, there was this store with its floral stand and its tent/wall shield.  First, I hesitated, than I walked in and sure enough the attendant was a Central American young man.  I had  question about some flower’s name.  He was curious about my camera.  He surprised me with his good English.  His name, Jenaro from Mexico.  No, not from Mexico City, but from Chilpancingo, not to far from Acapulco.

Chilpancingo? This time I had a paper and pen on me and I wrote the city’s name down, his name and few of the flower’s names. He was very pleasant and has been in the state for only a month and had studied English in Chilpancingo!! He didn’t mind me taking some shots. Few minutes later, it was time for me to go back to work, good thing since my battery died too.

Chilpancingo!! First time I hear a city by that name!!! Laptop on, google on, search engine fired up.  Here is what Wikipedia says:

Chilpancingo (formally Chilpancingo de los Bravo), also known as Ciudad Bravo, is the capital, and second-largest city of the state of Guerrero, Mexico. It is located at 17°33′0″N 99°30′0″W / 17.55°N 99.5°W / 17.55; -99.5. In the 2005 census the population of the city of Chilpancingo was 166,796. Its surrounding municipality, of which it is municipal seat, had a population of 214,219 persons. The municipality has an area of 2,338.4 km² (902.86 sq miles) located in the south-central part of the state.

The city is located on Federal Highway 95 which connects Acapulco to Mexico City

Chilpancingo is where the National Congress met in 1813 to discuss Mexico’s future as an independent nation.

On April 27, 2009 an earthquake with a magnitude of 5.6 was centered near Chilpancingo.”

from the Encyclopædia Britannica

Chilpancingo lies in the Sierra Madre del Sur along the Huacapa River, which descends through the inland flanks of the mountains. In pre-Columbian times, the Olmec left remarkable cave paintings in the nearby Juxtlahuaca caverns, which include an extensive tunnel network and a subterranean lake. Spanish conquistadores founded Chilpancingo (“Place of Wasps”) in 1591. It was the site of the first Mexican congress, convoked in 1813 by José María Morelos y Pavón. The prefix de los Bravo (“of the Bravo [family]”) was added to its name in honour of its native sons.”

(photos by: Houry Photography)

***********************

***************

*****

*

~ by Houry on February 1, 2010.

3 Responses to “Chilpancingo!!”

  1. Interesting read Houry:o) I am off to bed now.. as it is 3 oclock in the morning…. ammmammma (not good) love your flowerphotos.. hugs R

  2. Gorgeous flowers!

  3. That middle shot is stunning. I wish I had your zest for life Houry – you are blessed.

Leave a Reply

 
